Day 1 – Fed Up Challenge

It is no surprise the United States has a problem with obesity. In 2010, 57,638 adolescents were diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. In 1980 that number was zero. It is predicted that by 2050 one third of all Americans will suffer from the disease. The solution has always been to eat less and exercise more, but that’s not the solution. To burn off the calories in a 20oz coke you would have to bike for an hour and fifteen minutes. For one cookie? You’d have to jog for twenty minutes. One hour and twelve minutes of swimming is equal to a medium sized fry. Realistically speaking, we cannot burn the amount of calories we eat, and not all calories are created equal.

junk-food-industry(1)

When you eat sugar, your body processes it in the liver. When the liver reaches its limit, the pancreas produces excess insulin. Insulin turns sugar into fat and blocks the signal to your brain telling you you’re full. This leads to feelings of hunger, crabbiness, tiredness, and overall just not wanting to do anything. So why do we eat so much of it? Studies have shown that sugar is eight times more addictive than cocaine, and it’s everywhere! You can buy junk food at the checkout of any store, be it Gordy’s or Best Buy. When you walk into Davies you’re bombarded with junk food options just a step past the cashiers.

sugar_2675994b

Because of this, eating better is hard. It requires time and effort. You have to cook real food instead of relying on packaged meals and long lists of artificial ingredients. Following the Office of Sustainability’s showing of Fed Up I have decided to take the Fed Up Challenge. For ten days I will not be eating any added sugar. I will avoid processed foods and unknown ingredients. I will make use of my stove. I will share with all of you what it feels like to be sugar free. Right now, it’s not that great, and I am craving chocolate covered everything, but after ten days who knows. Will I feel more productive? Have more energy? Maybe even a little more money without feeling the need to buy a candy bar whenever the craving strikes me? Keep checking back for grocery lists, recipes, and healthier alternatives to processed foods. In the meantime, I’ll settle for some carrot sticks over a handful of sour patch kids…

All statistics and facts from Fed Up 

Soeching, S. (Soeching, S., Olson, S., Marson, E., Lazure, K., Gibson, S., & Couric, K.).(2014). Fed Up [Film]. Atlas Films

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – Fed Up Challenge

  1. During the summer, I went 27 days without processed or added sugar, and I felt amazing! I wish you the best of luck and longevity with your journey!

    • Congratulations Mariah, that’s awesome! I went back to sugar now that I’m done and now I’m back to limiting added sugar again. I really feel a lot better when I’m conscious about the sugar I’m eating! (Allie)

Leave a Reply

