Meet a New SWAT Member

Meet Emma!

20160309_SWAT_06

Emma Klapper

Emma is a freshman from Montello, Wisconsin studying Health Care Administration. Emma is currently living the dream and learning everything SWAT throws at her! Her favorite healthy snack is yogurt and granola, and her favorite ways to exercise are running and playing sports. If Emma were a crayon she would be Vivid Violent. An interesting fact about her is she was an All-Conference and All-District athlete in high school.

What is S.W.A.T?

The Student Wellness Advocacy Team (SWAT) is a group of peer health educators who educate the campus on health and wellness topics such as stress management, sexual health, nutrition, and more.  We are interactive, fun, and can tailor our materials to your group’s needs.  We also do health advocacy work on campus in an effort to make UW-Eau Claire’s campus a healthier place for learning and living.

 

How did you learn about the job opportunity?

 One day I decided to browse the UWEC website and came across the online student job board. I saw there was a position open for a Peer Health Educator. I thought it sounded similar to organizations I participated in during high school and so I clicked on it. I read the description and decided to apply that week.

What made you want to be apart if the SWAT Team?

  I wanted to be apart of the SWAT team because I had some experience in doing similar activities and programs. When I chose to become a member of SWAT, my major was undeclared but I knew I wanted to do something in the health care field. I thought this job would be a great opportunity for more experience and to even educate myself on these topics.

  What does the SWAT team even do?

SWAT’s most popular activity is Condom Bingo that is typically put on in the residence halls. We also teach the alcohol classes, CHOICES and PHD, for students in violation of the code in the residence halls. Our other programs include, Sex Trivia, Balanced Life, Nutrition 101, Relaxation Station and much more!

What are the hours like?

Depending the number of programs we have going on that week, the hours will vary. The hours are wonderful because our bosses are very flexible with our class schedules.

What is the work environment like?

Coming into SWAT, I had little experience of talking in front of audiences. At first I was super shy and nervous presenting in front of people. My bosses and co- workers have been very encouraging and have helped me ease into presenting more programs. The atmosphere in our office is very welcoming and comforting!

  What is your favorite part about being a part of the SWAT Team?

 My favorite part about being part of the SWAT team are my co-workers. They make coming to work, meetings, and programs so much more enjoyable. We all get along very well and everyone always has a smile on their face. I know that I can come to them with anything, even if it is outside of work.

 

 

Considering applying to be a part of the SWAT Team or just want to learn more? Check out our page:

https://www.uwec.edu/SHS/SWAT/about.htm

 

Like us on Facebook!

https://www.facebook.com/UWECSHS/

Follow us on Twitter! 

@UWECSHS

 

 

Leave a Reply

